The Toshiba 55-inch 4K Glasses-Free 3D TV (known as 55X3, 55X3000, 55ZL2, etc. for different countries) has a panel resolution of 3840 x 2160, i.e. 4 times the resolution of Full HD 1920 x 1080 (1080p) typically found on Blu-ray video.  To deliver glasses-free 3D, the 3D resolution is only 1280×720 (720p).  According to trustedreviews, this 4K TV cannot play 4K video, even if you can obtain 4K video.  You can only see the 4K resolution in image viewing or upscaled 2D video.

Toshiba claims that it can produce nine sets of parallatic images, it implies that at most 9 people (at 9 watching positions) can watch the TV in 3D mode.  The TV has a “Face-Tracking Camera” that locates the viewers and tune the images slightly for them.  There are also indicators on screen, so that the viewers can verify that they are watching the TV at optimal positions.  The indicators work like this: if you see a circle in the indicator without left arrow and right arrow, you’re at the correct position.  If you see a left (or right) arrow, you need to move to the left (or right) a bit.

I had very low expectations for glasses free 3D, after finding out that the Nintendo 3DS image is sickening for me.  I’m pleased to report that watching this TV for a very brief period, I do not find it to be sickening at all.  However, the 3D depth is not very good – this might be improved by a setting, or this could be inherent in glasses free 3D – I’m not sure at this point.  More importantly, too often I see double images (ghosting) – perhaps my head is not always at the optimal position.  Again affected by my imprecise position, the image clarity is affected as well.  I think that for those people who really hate the 3D glasses, this 3D presentation may be adequate for them.  However, I’d choose Panasonic 3D Plasma TV over it.

Although I did not have the chance to view images on this TV, I think that having a 4K 8 megapixel TV would be really useful because most cameras produce photographs of 12 megapixels or more.  Viewing them on a typical Full HD 1920×1080 2 megapixel TV screen eliminates most of the details.

With the exception of inability to play 4K video (not future-proof), I think this TV is a reasonable first step in consumer glasses-free 3D technology.

