I am not alone in having the opinion that rebooting the Spider-Man movie franchise after only 10 years is too quick.  I liked the original cast, so I didn’t think I would like The Amazing Spider-Man (2012).  However, it turns out that this 2012 version is even better than the slightly flawed Spider-Man 3 (2007).

Even though it restarts from the beginning and necessarily shares some common plot with Spider-Man (2002), it is presented sufficiently differently so that it does not feel repetitive at all.  There are many things to like in this new version, such as the emotional parts of the movie, as well as the new angles of Spider-Man movement between buildings.  I think the 3D is done very well too and adds to the movie experience.

Note: there is an extra ending scene soon after the credits begin.

