The Neon Genesis Evangelion TV series (1995-1996) was revolutionary.  The previous movie, Evangelion 2.0 (2.22): You Can (Not) Advance (2009), was perfect.  As a fan who waited for more than 3 years, I’m prepared to write good things about Evangelion 3.0 (3.33): You Can (Not) Redo (Blu-ray release 2013-4-24).  However, I’m shocked.  Changing (or re-imagining) the story completely is not necessarily a bad thing, but it creates a 14-year gap between the previous movie and this one.  This gap cannot make sense considering the continual attacks by the angels, and the devastated state of everything that ended with the previous movie.  It also changes everyone’s understanding of the how the previous movie ended.  I still hope that the next and final movie will make the story better, but for now, I can’t say I’m pleased.

