I despise movies that rely on feces or urine to create a joke.  Grown Ups 2 (Blu-ray release 2013-11-5), however, does it so many times that I lost count of it.  It makes me sad to see such a movie did much better than the awesome Pacific Rim in the US market.  There has to be a reason for its success.  I think it is due to the sheer number of jokes in this movie – I think it has 20 times more jokes than the average ‘romantic comedy’ movies.  (OK, this is not an apple-to-apple comparison, but it illustrates my point.)  With so many jokes, there’s a far higher chance of success in generating laughs from different types of audiences.  Putting my subjective taste aside, I admit that the filmmakers did put in their effort to create jokes.  Being able to come up with this many jokes using urine and feces is beyond the ability of a normal person.

 

