Winter’s Tale (Blu-ray release 2014-6-24) got universally bad reviews.  People trashed it because the magical and fantasy settings of the movie feel absurd, its rules are not clearly established, the appearances of demon and Lucifer are incredibly weak with their motivations poorly defined, reportedly the movie is not faithful to the book, and it is simply not a romance movie for those expecting one.  To summarize, the failure of this movie is that it is hard to swallow.

However, unlike everyone else, I like the visuals and the story.  I have not read the book so I do not require it to be faithful.  I also like the theme of every life having a purpose, although this is probably not what the book is about.  Halfway through the movie, a transition occurs which is a nice surprise to me, but bad for people wanting to see a romantic movie.

