I expected Exodus: Gods and Kings (Blu-ray release 2015-3-17) to be a straight forward retelling of the familiar biblical story about Moses.  The Prince of Egypt (1998) and The Ten Commandments (1956) did it perfectly, so I am not prepared for the multiple and serious problems with this 2014 version.

I like movies being fast paced, but here it’s beyond fast: Moses meets a woman, then they suddenly get married after two scenes.  Yet this is only a minor problem compared to the other really odd choices of the movie.  Aside from God (or the messenger) appearing as a vengeful boy, multiple dialogues and scenes make me believe that the filmmakers have serious doubts about god.  They also try to rationalize some, but not all, of what happens.  This incompleteness only proves that it is futile, and making the story incomprehensible.  [Disclaimer: I’m not a Christian or Catholic.]

