Journey to the Shore (Blu-ray release 2016-4-20) is yet another supernatural romantic drama movie, although I’m not sure it’s really romance.  After having disappeared for three years, a man suddenly appears in front of his wife, declaring he is already dead.  He takes his wife to a journey to meet people who helped him when he tried to find his way home.

I find this premise really interesting, and I generally love movies that explore death seriously, but I’m surprised to find that I do not like this award-winning movie at all.  Every living or dead people they meet have some issues or regrets, but I don’t find it touching just because of those regrets.  Someone related to the wife suddenly appears out of nowhere, said something seemingly important but it is not expanded upon and the thread is discarded immediately.

