I once said that I’d rather have another flawed Phantom Menace (1999) given that Force Awakens (2015) is just a structural copycat of the original Star Wars (1977).  It surprises me that Rogue One manages to expand the Star Wars universe so well, while being cohesive with and provides a different line of backstory for the original, and being action-packed and thoroughly entertaining with new tricks in large scale space battles.  This is the also the first time in my life being so happy to see dead people.

Edit: On my second viewing, I paid more attention to the CG characters.  I now notice a hint of unnaturalness – but two people I asked didn’t realize they’re CG characters until I told them.  Anyway, it still represents the best technology to date, much much better than the CG face in Furious 7 (2015).

